- ServerLock is a plug-in for Adobe Illustrator that warns a user when opening a file on a shared server that’s already being edited by another user. The plugin must be installed and enabled on the computer of the person editing files in order to create a small lock file (*.ailk) while in use, and on the computers of other users to recognize the lock file and respond accordingly. This is similar to methods used by high-end publishing software such as Adobe InDesign and workstation-based systems.
When opening a file that’s in use by someone else, a user will be presented with a dialog offering three choices:
- Cancel opening the file
- Open the file for viewing or copying (saving is disabled in this mode*)
- Override the lock and acquire ownership of the file
*Please note that read-only mode is not available in Adobe Illustrator, and that the plugin’s save-prevention methods may not work in every possible situation. It should be considered an assist, not a substitute for caution.
The plugin can be disabled by selecting the menu item File > Disable ServerLock. It can be enabled again in the same way, but only when no documents are open.
ServerLock currently requires Adobe Illustrator version CC 2017. To install the plugin, just drop it into Adobe Illustrator’s “Plug-ins” folder.